>
READING
CV, Design, Digital, Gareth Case, Infographic, SEO, Social Media, Uncategorized

Creative agencies should start by being… Creative?

How many times does my phone ring each day? probably 30. How many times is it someone trying to sell me something? probably 20. Now let’s add e-mail, usually un-targeted, non-personal twaddle that probably generates another 20 or so views a day. So, 20 calls and 20 e-mails every day from agencies; Print, Design,Social Media, Advertising SEO, PPC, DM, B2B, EOFA (that’s every Other F*@king accronym) FYI and I get tired, bored, sleepy and irritated by the same old patter.

How refreshing it is to get a slightly different approach.

If you are pitching to me as a creative agency, or even an agency that ‘claims’ to be different to the ‘rest’ then why not start like that?

What has prompted this post was an e-mail from a Director of an Ad agency (@Dekko_creative). ‘Another one’ I thought as outlook made that ‘I need to swap my PC for a Mac twang’. But for once, at least, once this week, it was different, here’s how:

1. I had looked at the Director’s profile on LinkedIn earlier that day, then got this e-mail: “Noticed you stopped by the other day, so I thought I’d do the same. ONI looks interesting and seems like we might be able to help each other…  Shall we Link In? ”

2. Suddenly I had another connection AND a follower on Twitter. Followed by a personalised e-mail asking if we could meet face to face as we were ‘so well connected online’. The e-mail was personal, they had taken the time to research me and my company and this was made very clear in the e-mail. They also offered me coffee, a request from me at the bottom of my Infographic CV which had clearly been reviewed as other references were made. We like personal.

3. Finally they said that they don’t do the same old boring approach and then gave a few credentials. After some pretty informal e-mail tennis where I spoke Chinese and they confessed their love for the Pet Shop Boys I accept a meeting request from my ‘online stalker’ and I’ll be seeing them on Monday.

If only everyone engaged like this rather than the blanket approach, a lot more happy clients would be seen by a lot more happy agencies. It’s got me thinking about how we engage with our prospects. I understand there is a thin line between formal and informal but if you get it right, you’re on to a winner.

Oh and by the way, If you call me from now on with the ‘Patter’ I will be sending you a link to this post and may even give you a 2nd chance to redeem yourself.

Well done Dekko. Now can everyone please step up to the plate.

Follow me on Twitter for more

About garethcase

Gareth Case has more than 12 years experience of marketing in the B2B technology space and has held senior marketing roles at Intermec Technologies, Arc Solutions, Viglen, Athona and now ONI and has experience of working throughout EMEA, North America and APAC. His broad understanding of the full marketing mix combined with a diverse skill set has contributed to the success and growth of his previous employers. Gareth has proven, successful experience in the following marketing disciplines: Offline: Marketing Strategy, Team Leadership, Direct Mail, Campaign Management, Telemarketing, Print Production, Public Relations, Copywriting, Budget Management, Graphic Design, Collateral Design, Presenting. Online: Website Design, Content Management, iPad Toolkits, Social Media, PPC, SEO, Analytics, CRM, E-Marketing, Video. Gareth has experience of working across many vertical markets including Healthcare, Local Government, Education, Finance, Insurance, Manufacturing, Logistics, Retail, Media, Not for Profit and Legal. He has started this blog ‘Inside a Marketing Mind’ to share his experiences and promote debate around the latest marketing innovations. Follow Gareth on Twitter here – http://twitter.com/gareth_case and subscribe to the blog for all the latest updates. For a more detailed synopsis of Gareth’s skills and experience, please visit his blog or LinkedIn page

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Creative agencies should start by being… Creative?

  1. This pretty much justifies the requirement for lead generation companies to really invest in their contact database. If they don’t research a great deal into the person and the company they’re planning to call, it makes the creative approaches that you’re encouraging downright impossible. Thanks for sharing this!

    Posted by Lawrence Anderson | December 5, 2011, 6:21 am
  2. I agree! Creative agency should start by being creative. That’s what they call to themeselves in the first place. 🙂

    Posted by AppointmentSettingMatt | January 19, 2012, 1:43 am

Leave a Reply

