>
READING
Futures, Gareth Case, Social Media

Google Wallet – Revolutionising The Way We Buy

Gareth Case Google WalletThere is nothing like innovation and Google has done it again. The smartphone is becoming an increasingly important tool with access to pretty much anything, no matter where in the world we are. It’s also displacing other gadgets and object in our lives. Take satellite navigation for example, I used to have a TOM TOM but now I run the App right off my iPhone 4, I used to carry a USB stick, now I just use DropBox and access through my smartphone, and a camera? I’ll probably never bUy a digital camera or camcorder again because guess what, I have them already built into a device I carry with me all the time.

But what else will they replace? Take a look at this video, it’s Google replacing the credit card with Google Wallet. Yes, we have heard about this technology for a while but now it’s a reality. What’s more it fully supports Location Based Marketing (LBM) one of my top 5 marketing trend predictions for 2012, by promoting special offers and vouchers based on preferences and geo-location. It supports credit carDs and even gift cards. Surely it’s only a matter of time before it completely replaces the wallet as we know it today.

I have to say it worries me a little bit, the advancements in cyber crime over the last few years combined with innovations like this may will open up a wealth of opportunity for cyber criminals but I must admit, I love the thought of losing another ‘object’ from my pockets and simplifying my life even more.

It will be interesting to see how this one pans out but in my opinion it’s definitely the future of retail and will revolutionise the way we pay for things.

Follow me on Twitter for all my latest updates.

Or subscribe to my blog here.

About garethcase

Gareth Case has more than 12 years experience of marketing in the B2B technology space and has held senior marketing roles at Intermec Technologies, Arc Solutions, Viglen, Athona and now ONI and has experience of working throughout EMEA, North America and APAC. His broad understanding of the full marketing mix combined with a diverse skill set has contributed to the success and growth of his previous employers. Gareth has proven, successful experience in the following marketing disciplines: Offline: Marketing Strategy, Team Leadership, Direct Mail, Campaign Management, Telemarketing, Print Production, Public Relations, Copywriting, Budget Management, Graphic Design, Collateral Design, Presenting. Online: Website Design, Content Management, iPad Toolkits, Social Media, PPC, SEO, Analytics, CRM, E-Marketing, Video. Gareth has experience of working across many vertical markets including Healthcare, Local Government, Education, Finance, Insurance, Manufacturing, Logistics, Retail, Media, Not for Profit and Legal. He has started this blog ‘Inside a Marketing Mind’ to share his experiences and promote debate around the latest marketing innovations. Follow Gareth on Twitter here – http://twitter.com/gareth_case and subscribe to the blog for all the latest updates. For a more detailed synopsis of Gareth’s skills and experience, please visit his blog or LinkedIn page

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Google Wallet – Revolutionising The Way We Buy

  1. WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. …

    Posted by Tiera Kuan | September 27, 2011, 1:33 pm
  2. I have to say, youve got one of the greatest blogs Ive noticed in a long time. What I wouldnt give to be capable of develop a blog thats as fascinating as this. I guess Ill just need to keep reading yours and hope that one day I can write on a subject with as a lot understanding as youve got on this one!

    Posted by Alton Alameida | October 17, 2011, 2:26 am
  3. Hey, there’s a lot of helpful information here!

    Posted by waw iso files download | October 18, 2011, 5:08 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Marketing Trends for 2013 and beyond « INSIDE A MARKETING MIND: BLOG BY GARETH CASE - September 23, 2011

  2. Pingback: Marketing Trends for 2013 and beyond 2013 Marketing Trends To Look Out For « INSIDE A MARKETING MIND: BLOG BY GARETH CASE - February 20, 2012

  3. Pingback: Marketing Trends for 2013 and beyond 2013 « seedlingsocialmedia - October 15, 2012

  4. Pingback: Goodbye Email? | brandITbandits - December 6, 2012

Leave a Reply

