>
READING
CV, Design, Digital, Futures, Gareth Case, Infographic, Recruitment, Social Media, Uncategorized

[INFOGRAPHIC] CVs / Resume’s

Infographic CV Gareth CaseAbout a month ago I created an infographic CV. It has, once again evolved and you can download the latest version here or click the image to the left.

But what has it done for me? Firstly, due to the excellent feedback I have received it has proved my original point that infographics are a wonderful way of communicating. The majority of us are visual creatures, turned on more by the eye, than the depth of detail. To that end, my CV has attracted some lovely comments and in less than a month, 954 downloads. Would my standard CV have received the same level of interest? No chance. So I am embarking on a new journey, to turn our ‘detaily’ product collateral into slick, one page infographics that convey the essence of our key message in a few seconds, rather than a few minutes. As soon as they are complete I will share them with you, together with our current collateral and you can give me your feedback and tell me what you would prefer to receive as a consumer.

The other thing it has done for me is broaden my social network. I have received tens of LinkedIn requests, lots more followers on Twitter, requests to re-publish my content on other blogs and in print, 3 requests for consultancy and 6 people asking if I can design them one. And it’s not easing up either… Countless recruitment consultants contacting me (I’m not looking for a job by the way, this was an experiment), friends asking for advice and agencies wanting a piece of my budget, it’s been an interesting few weeks.

My advice for anyone looking for a new job is to create an infographic CV or find someone who can and put it out there to see what happens. I can tell you that without even looking for a new role, it’s had a lot more interest than my Word based one got when I was on the market.

Then think about how this format could translate into business collateral. The opportunities are endless and the infographic is going to be a massive trend in 2012

If you need any advice, drop me a line and don’t forget to follow me on Twitter.

About garethcase

Gareth Case has more than 12 years experience of marketing in the B2B technology space and has held senior marketing roles at Intermec Technologies, Arc Solutions, Viglen, Athona and now ONI and has experience of working throughout EMEA, North America and APAC. His broad understanding of the full marketing mix combined with a diverse skill set has contributed to the success and growth of his previous employers. Gareth has proven, successful experience in the following marketing disciplines: Offline: Marketing Strategy, Team Leadership, Direct Mail, Campaign Management, Telemarketing, Print Production, Public Relations, Copywriting, Budget Management, Graphic Design, Collateral Design, Presenting. Online: Website Design, Content Management, iPad Toolkits, Social Media, PPC, SEO, Analytics, CRM, E-Marketing, Video. Gareth has experience of working across many vertical markets including Healthcare, Local Government, Education, Finance, Insurance, Manufacturing, Logistics, Retail, Media, Not for Profit and Legal. He has started this blog ‘Inside a Marketing Mind’ to share his experiences and promote debate around the latest marketing innovations. Follow Gareth on Twitter here – http://twitter.com/gareth_case and subscribe to the blog for all the latest updates. For a more detailed synopsis of Gareth’s skills and experience, please visit his blog or LinkedIn page

Discussion

8 thoughts on “[INFOGRAPHIC] CVs / Resume’s

  1. agreed Gareth. I think the future is all about presenting information in a visually appealing way as your audiences on the web have less and less disposable time or propensity to read static text. Would be interested in how you distribute your infographic once its completed. We have been converting alot of printed pdf collateral into rich media digital collateral using a platform called FLIMP- (www.flimp.net) which enables precise targeting of the content to audiences via video email ,sdeo, social media with advanced tracking and reporting. Seems to me that an infographic on a flimp- would be a match made in heaven- what do you use to create the infographic?

    Posted by sean randles | September 20, 2011, 10:54 pm
  2. Very cool. What did you create it with?

    Posted by Dave | September 21, 2011, 5:39 pm
  3. A really exceptional way of displaying a lot of key information in a very digestible fashion. Agree with Sean, surely the way forward in a future where disposable time will be less and less. I will certainly will be creating an infographic CV. I will also try my hand at a video version – the next step from this in the future?

    Posted by Shez | September 26, 2011, 8:32 pm
  4. I have the skills to do this, so why didn’t I think of it first?! Grrr! Gareth, this is brilliant. If I was seeking to fill a position and someone gave me this, I would hire them on the spot. This is the best and most compelling CV I’ve seen.

    Posted by Adrian Jackson | October 13, 2011, 5:44 pm
  5. 900+ downloads? Wow, not suprised, it looks great. I tried doing one myself too but using powerpoint only http://bit.ly/nHvarJ. Infographic CV is so much more fun, and I think it provides a great conversation starter with your interviewee!

    Posted by Ruby | October 20, 2011, 4:29 am
  6. Hiya Gareth infographics are certainly the in thing at the moment thats for sure. An idea from an seo point of view would be to have a box where you could copy the code so you can embed it on your own blogs. Great for link baiting but I understand you might not want to do that with your personal CV.

    Posted by Garry Pickles | December 15, 2011, 12:31 pm

Leave a Reply

